Access Keys:

Whitehouse Primary School, 2 Doagh Rd, Newtownabbey

Board of Governors


The Board of Governors play a key role in leading the school.  They have several key tasks they include:

  • To champion the needs of the children.
  • Overseeing the pastoral care of all children, parents and staff.
  • To set and maintain high standards for all pupils across the school.
  • Ensuring that there is an excellent quality of provision in place for learning.
  • To maximise the learning of all pupils in the school.
  • Developing a wider range of activities to enrich school life.
  • Managing the school’s resources, especially the financial budget.
  • To recruit, develop and monitor the impact of the school’s employees.
  • Make links with the local and wider community.
  • To proactively prevent, resolve and settle complaints from stakeholders.
  • To make the school open for accountability on its performance.

The Governors’ Meetings are themed in six areas of focus across the year.

Meeting Main Theme/s
September SDP & Strategic Leadership (Staff and Governor Workshop)
September Child Protection & Pastoral Care
November Teaching & Learning Review
February Staffing & Accommodation Review
April Financial & Recruitment Planning
June Review & Celebration of the School Year

There are a number of other meetings called to deal with issues as they arise across the school year e.g. recruitment issues.

The set meetings are held on the final Thursday of the month.

Who are the Governors?

Governor Status
Mrs Deborah Baillie
Education Authority Representative
Cllr. Billy Webb Education Authority Representative
Rev. Elaine O’Brien
(Wellbeing Link Governor)
Transfer Representative
Mr Ian Simpson
(Deputy Chairperson)

Transfer Representative

Mr Noel Douglas
(Health and Saftey Link Governor)
Transfer Representative
Mrs Linda Douglas
(Designated Child Protection Governor)
Transfer Representative
Mrs Julie Gilmour
(Attendance Link Governor)
Parent Governor
Mrs Sarah McClean
(S.E.N. Link Governor)
Parent Governor
Miss Jenny Campbell Teacher Governor